The Coat Hanger

Wow, it has been a while since I have uploaded a post. I have been neglecting this blog for almost over a year now. I just haven’t been outside enough to take interesting photos to post. Family life and two young kids is keeping my parenting life busy.

So last night I took the opportunity to go out and finally do some night photography with my RX1 and also it was my first time using the shutter release cable with the camera in BULB mode. Bulb mode, is a shutter speed setting that allows for long exposure times under the direct control of the user. The shutter simply stays open as long as the shutter release button remains pressed, and then once you release your thumb (or finger) the photo is then processed. It is very useful for shooting Fire works.

Even though using the shutter release cable looks old fashioned compared to electronic versions, I must admit it is actually fun and i think it is cool. I have used electronic shutters in the past on my old Nikon and yeah, it does the job, but it feels great using the shutter release cable, you should try it out if you can.

The picture you see here is one of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, you can see why it is nicknamed the Coat Hanger.

The Coat Hanger

The Coat Hanger

Leave a Reply

